There’s no mistaking that the local government in Dobson is working for its residents and to make our town the best it can be. This section is full of useful information, from a helpful town directory, to pertinent forms and applications, to information on all of Dobson’s municipal departments, and more.

For your convenience, information on the Administration of Dobson, contact information for the Town’s Mayor and Commissioners, and information on Dobson’s Town Codes and Ordinances are located below on this page.


The Town’s Administration Department is responsible for the overall administration and operations of Town’s services and departments, along with carrying out the actions and polices of the Board of Commissioners. The Administration Department works regular business hours at the Dobson Town Hall.

The Town of Dobson operates under the Council-Manager form of Government, which combines the leadership of elected officials with the professional experience of an appointed local government administrator.

Town Manager - Josh Smith

Town Manager Josh Smith

In 2010, the Board of Commissioners appointed Josh Smith as Town Manager. Josh is a former Winston-Salem Police Officer and Detective. He is a graduate of the Appalachian State University Master’s of Public Administration Program. Josh serves at the pleasure of the Board of Commissioners and acts as the administrative head of the Town. As Town Manager Josh oversees all town operations and personnel and works with department heads to solve problems. He prepares and administers the annual budget, seeks and administers grants and works with citizens to solve community issues. Josh also ensures town operations are conducted in an efficient, ethical, and transparent manner while remaining compliant with state and federal regulations.

Finance Officer - Laura Hill

Laura Hill was hired by Town Manager Josh Smith in June of 2012. Laura has a Bachelor's Degree in Finance and has three years of private sector finance experience. Laura is responsible for account reconciliations, accounts receivable, accounts payable, managing general ledgers, controlling expenditures, managing cash assets, and preparing financial reports. She also ensures compliance with applicable state financial laws.


Town Clerk/Municipal Services Manager - Misty Marion

Misty Marion was hired by Town Manager Josh Smith in October of 2012.  As Town Clerk, Misty is responsible for the proper recording and filing of all ordinances, agendas, resolutions, petitions, minutes, and other legal documents.  She also ensures the Town complies with the Open Meetings Act and Public Records Law.  As Municipal Services Manager, Misty provides administrative support to all department heads with regards to Town provided services such as water, wastewater, garbage and recycling collection, street lights, and more.  Misty also oversees recreation services and works closely with the Town's Recreation Committee.       


Town Attorney - Hugh Campbell

Hugh Campbell

Mr. Campbell is an attorney with the Campbell Law Group in Mount Airy. Hugh graduated from Davidson College with an English degree and later achieved his law degree at the Wake Forest University School of Law. Mr. Campbell is a very active member of the community through various religious and civic organizations and is also retained by the Mount Airy Board of Commissioners. As Town Attorney, Mr. Campbell works with the Administration department and advises the Board of Commissioners on legal matters. 


Mayor Ricky K. Draughn


PO Box 1021

Dobson, NC 27107


Commissioner Robin Testerman

Commissioner Robin Testerman

110 Freeman Street

Dobson, NC 27107


Commissioner John Lawson

Commissioner John Lawson

423 S. Main Street

Dobson, NC 27107


Commissioner Vonda Comer 

PO Box 351

Dobson, NC 27107



Commissioner Todd Dockery

Commissioner John Lawson

106 Saddle Brook Drive

Dobson, NC 27017

Commissioner Wayne Atkins

Commissioner John Lawson

PO Box 351

Dobson, NC 27107 



The Town of Dobson’s Code of Ordinances is now available in searchable form at Click here for this online Code of Ordinances.